. ="font-family: verdana; font-size: 11px; color: #333333; border: 1px solid #C0C0C0">

Home | Other | Other topics

Helpful Tips For Working Through DUI Charges

By: Rudy Silva

If you are facing DUI charges, you may need help. Every State has its own DUI laws to help people in the proceedings. DWI cases are not isolated. Everywhere, there are felony cases being heard in the court.

In Texas, first time DUI arrests fall under class B misdemeanor. If you are one of them, you may need to serve time from 72 hours to 6 days. You may also have to pay a DUI fine, which should not exceed $2,000, depending on the degree of DWI cases.

The good thing about first offense is not having your car impounded. However, you need to complete a 12 hour DUI class, which you should complete within 180 days after probation was granted. Otherwise, your driver’s license will be revoked.

For second offense, your DUI charges will be considered a class A misdemeanor. If you have a third DUI charge, it is equivalent to a 3rd degree felony. The time serve will be 72 hours to not more than 1 year. If you face a 3rd DUI charge, you will serve jail time from 2 to 10 years.

The first thing to do when you are charged with a DUI offense is to find a DUI attorney. If you cannot afford to hire a private DUI lawyer, the State has the duty to provide one for you. However, it does not guarantee that you may be given the best quality of representation, because public attorneys have a long list of people being charged with DUI.

If your DUI charges are serious, you need to have a good private DUI lawyer to help prevent future litigation arising from the DUI arrests.

Depending on the stipulations on your insurance company, they may help you finance the damages done, if there are. However, they see DWI cases as a threat because that can be an indication of pathologically high risk behavior. Chances are—they will increase your insurance rates for your car to as high as 500%.

Do not expect your current insurance company to give you the same rates. Shop around for new insurance, and one that offers flexible options for your car. There are many car insurance companies that offer reasonable rates. Check out the drive insurance program; it is meant for drivers who have DUI charges.

Whether you are alcoholic or not, it is better to straighten out your life. Make firm and positive decision regarding your cravings for alcohol and its influence it has in your life. Even when your DUI attorney has done well for your DUI offense and you have found a new insurance company.

Seek professional help. Look for excellent programs that deal with people who have DWI cases. There are programs that focus on prevention, and programs that help people who have been given DUI convictions. Texas has many institutions that exist for such purpose.

With a third offense, you have a serious decision to make. Additional DUI will most likely ruin your life. You will have to make a hard decision, which is more important doing DUI or having someone drive you home, like a taxi. Most people who have several DUI charges have not learned their lessons right.

Your employment is another consideration. Most companies view DUI charges as something bad for their business, even when the nature of your job does not involve driving. Some companies give significance to values and principles that their employees have.

Do you know that DUI charges carry a heavy penalty? Each state has its own DUI laws. If you are in Texas, this state has its own DUI laws. A DUI carries a fine and time away. You will need a felony lawyer. The state also has recovery programs. Read this article to learn about to solve your DUI charges.

Article Source: http://www.positivearticles.com. PositiveArticles.Com does not vouch for or necessarily endorse the contents of this article.